The 25 winners of the Foundation for the Lugano faculties of USI scholarships


Institutional Communication Service

13 December 2022

The awarding ceremony of the best students of each Master's programme with the CHF 4,000 scholarships made available by the Foundation for the Lugano Faculties of USI for the academic year 2022/23 was held on Monday, 12 December 2022 at 6:30 pm in the Multipurpose Room of the East Campus Lugano. 

Scholarships are allocated based on academic merit by an Awarding Committee composed of Albino Zgraggen, Secretary of the Foundation for the Lugano faculties of USI, and Lorenzo Cantoni, Deputy Rector and Pro-rector for Education and Student's experience at USI, according to the following criteria:

- have started the attendance of a USI Master's programme in the autumn semester of 2021/22;

- have gained by the end of the autumn 2022 exam session at least 60 ECTS expected in the first year of study. The maximum number of credits possible is considered if less than 60 credits are required in the first-year curriculum. The credits must be acquired entirely in a USI Master's programme and include credits from all required courses;

- have obtained the best average grade in their class, corresponding to at least 9/10. To calculate the average grade, the Committee will consider the best 60 ECTS earned during the USI Master's programme.

- attend the award ceremony. Absence is allowed only for justified reasons.

For the academic year 2022/23, the Foundation has awarded 25 scholarships for a total value of 80'000 CHF.

Below are the names of the students to whom the award went, broken down by course of study:


Master in Finance          

  • ex aequo
    • Jenson Kakkanattu
    • Denis Bandzak

Master in Management

  • Domenico Paolillo


Master in International Tourism              

  • Alessandra Pozzan


Master in Media Management 

  • Tatiana Chervyakova


Master in Corporate Communication    

  • Sebastiano Archetti


Master in Marketing and Transformative Economy         

  • Lorenzo Settin


Master in Communication, Management & Health         

  • Grace Ronan


Master in Digital Fashion Communication           

  • Margherita Garbin


Master in European Studies in Investor Relations and Financial Communication

  • ex aequo
    • Elena Baldassi
    • Chiara Roncallo


Master's degree in Italian language, literature and civilisation   

  • ex aequo
    • Isabella Cornaggia
    • Francesca Rossetti


Master in Philosophy   

  • ex aequo
    • Alberto Carrascon
    • Charlotte Erika Zito


Master in Artificial Intelligence

  • Aurora Spagnol


Master in Computational Science           

  • Pratyai Mazumder


Master in Management and Informatics              

  • Catalina Aliste


Master in Software and Data Engineering

  • Joseph Romeo


Master of Medicine       

  • Dominik Escher


Master in Cognitive Psychology in Health Communication          

  • Michela Pelosin


Master in Architecture

  • Best GPA
    • Alessia Barbera
  • Second best GPA - ex aequo
    • Annalisa Massari
    • Alice Brocato

Master in History and Theory of Art and Architecture

  • Elisa Malnati


No student meets the requirements regarding the other Master's degrees.